line up

Džambo Aguševi Orchestra
null

Balkan Brass from North Macedonia: now that’s exciting! Džambo Agušev, better known as The Funky Tiger, is definitely one of the TOP musical exports of Macedonia. The 31-year-old trumpeter and band leader has made the leap from small country town to stages around the world. Born into a family of musicians, he began his orchestral career at the age of 11.

While deeply rooted in the brass band sound of the southern Balkans, the young Džambo kept an open ear and listened to music from East and West: jazz and Turkish music, funk and soul, film music and classical music. He used his gypsy heritage as a starting point from which to develop his own, unique trumpeting style and sound and form his orchestra.

Džambo has won every music prize in the Balkan genre and could easily rest on his laurels. But he’s still out for more. He wants to enthuse the European audience. Well, we of the Brass Palmas community are of course first in line to say: Let’s go! Or, as they say in Macedonian: Ајде да одиме!

line up

Džambo Aguševi Orchestra
null

Balkan Brass aus Nord-Mazedonien: Jetzt wird’s spannend! Džambo Agušev, besser bekannt als „The Funky Tiger“, ist wohl einer DER Exporte aus Mazedonien wenn es um Musik geht. Der 31-jährige Trompeter und Band-Leader schaffte den Sprung von der kleinen ländlichen Stadt auf die Bühnen dieser Welt. Aus einer Musikerfamilie stammend, startete er mit 11 Jahren seine Orchesterkarriere.

Während er tief in der Blaskapelle des südlichen Balkans verwurzelt war, hielt der junge Džambo die Ohren offen und hörte Musik aus West und Ost: Jazz und Türkisch, Funk- und Soul-Musik, Filmmusik und Klassik, wobei er sein Gypsy-Erbe als Ursprung benutzte, aus dem er seinen eigenen unverwechselbaren Trompetenstil und -klang entwickelte und sein Orchester formte.

Džambo hat alle Musik-Preise im Balkan-Sphären gewonnen und könnte sich längst auf seinen Lorbeeren ausruhen. Aber er strebt nach mehr, will das europäische Publikum begeistern. Da stellen wir uns als Brass-Palmas-Gemeinde doch gleich mal in die erste Reihe und sagen: Auf geht’s! Oder wie man auf mazedonisch so schön sagt: Ајде да одиме!